The Hag

The Hag

I wish I were a hag of the bog.

Alabaster skin, lank, dark hair,

that billows out from my head,

whether or not there is wind to move it so.

Long fingernails, that look like talons,

sharp enough to slice. And sinuous limbs

untroubled by vines that twist and choke

so many others. I wish I could float above

the quagmire, my feet never getting stuck

in the mud. No worry of drowning there,

in the swamp, alongside the masses.

I wish I could collect herbs to make tonics,

and poisons, for whatever might ail me.

Collect the skeletons of birds, and toads, and fish,

to use in my rituals, the ones where

I dance naked under the light of the moon

and chant and shriek loudly and shrilly,

untroubled about whom might hear.

 

I wish I were a hag of the bog.

Feared and respected, and largely left alone.

Villagers only making the arduous journey

to my hut when they need a healing potion,

or a spell for mending, or a baby stilled

within a womb. They ask these things

of me, with eyes upon their feet, too

frightened to meet my gaze, ashamed of

their requests, but also thankful for

my ability to help them in their need.

I am talked about in whispers in the backrooms

of their taverns, or in their haylofts. Never openly

acknowledged, but universally required.

I do not mind. They leave me be, I prefer this to the clamor

of their streets and shops, to the messiness

of their lives. I prefer my friends; the raven, and toad

and fox, and fish. The lamprey and the silence of the

swamp. The stillness of my soul,

the black cauldron, and the insects that

sing in the night, yet do not bite me.

 

I move through the bog, alone

and unafraid. The orchids

bend down to kiss my alabaster skin

as I float towards my hut, clothed in

the light of the moon.

Leave a comment